الريادة في الفنون والثقافة

"الرّيادة في الفنون والثّقافة" هو برنامج خاص جديد يطلقه الصندوق العربي للثقافة والفنون (آفاق) بالشراكة مع مؤسّسة "دروسوس" وبدعم من وزارة الخارجية الألمانية. يرمي البرنامج إلى توفير مساحة جماعية مشتركة للتفكّر في الاستدامة، وهو مصمّم لإلهام وتنشيط وتعزيز المؤسسات الثقافية الصغيرة والمتوسّطة القائمة والعاملة في المنطقة العربيّة، والتي تعمل مبادراتها على إشراك المجتمع وأفراده. سوف تستفيد 24 مؤسّسة فنية وثقافية من البرنامج على مدى ثلاث دورات خلال الفترة الممتدّة بين عامَي 2018 و2021؛ أي 8 مؤسّسات في كل دورة. يشمل البرنامج التدريب والتوجيه في مجال الرّيادة، بالإضافة إلى منحة تحفيزيّة مقدّمة للمؤسّسات المشاركة مخصّصة لتنفيذ نشاط إبتكاري يهدف إلى تحسين قدرتها المؤسّسية على التكيف والطواعية. تكمن حداثة البرنامج في طبيعته التّجريبية والواسعة النّطاق، وفي سعيه إلى تشجيع الإستفادة والتعلّم من القطاعات الأخرى. يركّز البرنامج أيضاً على دراسات الحالات المهمّة ويسعى إلى مشاركة أفضل الممارسات والخبرات – بين بلدان الجنوب بشكل رئيسي – وتبادل النتائج والبيانات من خلال منصّة تفاعليّة على شبكة الإنترنت تستفيد منها العديد من المؤسسات الأخرى غير المشاركة بشكلٍ مباشر في البرنامج. يوفّر البرنامج فرصةً لهذه المؤسسات من أجل إعادة التفكّر في مهامِها في ظلّ عالم معولم سريع التبدّل والتغيّر؛ يشمل ذلك إعادة تقييم علاقتها بالمموّلين وبالجمهور، الإستفادة والاستلهام من المؤسّسات النّظيرة التي تعمل في قطاعات ومناطق جغرافية أخرى وتتعامل مع نفس التحديات والفرص، وأخيراً، إكتساب مهارات وقدرات جديدة لتحسين استدامتها على المدى الطويل.

تم تأسيس برنامج "الرّيادة في الفنون والثّقافة" كتجربة في "التّعلّم والتّنفيذ" تعدّها وتقدّمها مجموعة من المتخصصين في القطاع الثقافي وغيره من القطاعات، وسيستمر محتوى البرنامج في التطور طوال فترة السنوات الثلاث المخطّط لها. تشمل ورش عمل البرنامج مجالات الإستراتيجيّة، التّواصل، جمع التّبرعات، الإستفادة من تجربة قادة التّمويل الأصغر، وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية وريادة الأعمال، دراسات الحالات التي نفّذتها المؤسسات النظيرة في أفريقيا وشبه القارة الهندية وأمريكا الجنوبية، بالإضافة إلى التّفكّر في موضوعات عالميّة مثل عدم المساواة والتكنولوجيا والأخلاقيّات. تمتد كل دورة لمدة عام واحد وتستفيد منها ثماني مؤسّسات عاملة في مجال الفنون والثقافة. يشارك مدير ونائب مدير كلّ من المؤسسات الثمانية المَعنيّة في برنامج يدوم 12 شهراً، يتضمن ثلاث ورشات عمل تتخلّلها جلسات مخصّصة للإرشاد والمتابعة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيتم دعم المشاركين بمنحة قدرها 25000 دولار أمريكي لتمويل نشاط إبتكاري محدّد مستوحى من البرنامج ويهدف إلى تعزيز إستدامة المؤسسة.

السياق

تعمل المؤسّسات الفنية والثقافية في المنطقة العربية ضمن بيئة تتّسم بالتّحديات والصعوبات المتزايدة. يتلازم الإعتماد على نوع واحد من أنواع الدّعم، سواء كان دولة أو مؤسسة أو شركة أو فرد، مع العديد من الضّغوط والمخاطر المحتملة. وفي الحالات التي تكون فيها قوانين العمل صارمة، بالكاد تستطيع المؤسّسات تغطية نفقاتها، ناهيك عن عدم قدرتها على تحقيق كامل إمكاناتها. قليلة هي المؤسّسات التي تتوفّر لها فرصة تأمّل ودراسة مسار تطوّرها وإعادة صياغة منظومة عملها، ممّا يؤدّي إلى تقويض استدامتها وإضعافها. وفي ظل انخفاض التّمويل المخصّص للفنون والثقافة عموماً، والتغيرّات الحتمية التي يعيشها المشهد التّمويلي، تحتاج المؤسّسات الفنية والثقافية إلى التكيّف بشكلٍ مستمر من خلال التفكير خارج الصندوق وتنويع مصادر تمويلها.

تتمثّل إحدى التّوصيات الواردة في دراسة "آفاق" للسنوات العشر الماضية، والصادرة في العام 2017، في دراسة إمكانية دعم مرونة وطواعية المؤسّسات الثقافية. وبفضل مساره في دعم الفنون والثقافة وتحديد نهج ابتكاريّة للإستدامة، يلتزم الصندوق العربي للثقافة والفنون (آفاق) بأخذ زمام المبادرة لدعم مجتمع الممارسين الثقافيين في سعيهم لإعادة النظر في سلكهم المهني بهدف تعزيز وصيانة ارتباطهم بالمجتمعات التي يتوجّهون إليها، وتطوير ممارسات أكثر ثبوتاً واستدامة قادرة على توليد قِيَم فنية عامّة ومشاركة نتاج المبادرات بشكلٍ فعّال.

كمؤسسات فنية وثقافية، نحن كيانات تعمل للمنفعة العامة، لدينا الكثير لنفخر به وفي جعبتنا فيض من القضايا والتساؤلات التي تحفّز استمرارنا وديمومتنا. ما هي القيم التي نزرعها؟ ما هو الأثر الاجتماعي الذي نولّده ولمن؟ كيف يمكننا أن نبقى على اتصال وثيقٍ بمجتمعاتنا؟ كيف ترتبط ممارساتنا المحليّة والإقليميّة بالجهود العالمية للتنمية المستدامة؟ ما الذي يمكن أن نتعلمه من الممارسين في مختلف السياقات والقطاعات؟ ما هي أنواع السرديّات والأدوات التي نشارك عملنا من خلالها؟ كيف نعمل على تحفيز الأفراد والشركات والمؤسسات بطرق مبتكرة بهدف تعزيز الإستثمار في الفنون والثقافة في منطقتنا؟ ما هي الإعتبارات الأخلاقية المتعلّقة بمصادر التمويل؟ ما مدى تكيّف وقدرة إدارتنا على تبنّي روح المبادرة؟ كيف نُلهِم أنفسنا للابتكار وما هي أولوياتنا؟ كيف يمكننا العمل مع قطاعات عامّة وغير ربحيّة تسعى لأن تكون بنفس كفاءة القطاعات الخاصّة، ومع قطاعات خاصّة تصبو نحو المخالطة الإجتماعيّة؟ ما الجوانب الأخرى التي يجب أن نتناولها؟

هذه هي بعض التساؤلات التي سيعمل برنامج "الرّيادة في الفنون والثّقافة" على الإجابة عنها.

المعايير وعمليّة الإختيار

"الرّيادة في الفنون والثّقافة" هو برنامج منسّق تخضع فيه الطلبات لنظام التّرشيح. شارك في الدورة الأولى من البرنامج 29 مرشّحاً من المؤسّسات والأفراد ذوي المعرفة الواسعة في مجال المؤسّسات الفنية والثقافيّة العاملة في المنطقة العربية. تلقّت "آفاق" 82 ترشيحاً، من بينهم 7 تمّ التوصية بهم أكثر من مرّة. إذن، وصل عدد المؤسّسات المرشّحة إلى 73 مؤسَّسة تواصلت معها "آفاق" للتقدّم بطلب منحة لبرنامج "الرّيادة في الفنون والثّقافة". أعربت 48 مؤسَّسة منها عن اهتمامها بالبرنامج، وتقدّمت منها فعليّاً 39 مؤسّسة بطلب ترشيح، إلى أن وقع اختيار هيئة التّحكيم على 8 مرشّحين نهائيين.

أعضاء هيئة التّحكيم الثلاثة للدورة الأولى من برنامج "الرّيادة في الفنون والثّقافة" هم خديجة البنّاوي (المغرب)، أحمد العطّار (مصر)، ومُختار كوكش (لبنان/سوريا). عكست المناقشات بين المحلّفين حرصهم على إعطاء الأولويّة للمؤسّسات التي تحظى بأعلى فرصة للاستفادة من البرنامج، والتي تتمتّع حاليّا بتأثير اجتماعي واسع أو تعد به في المستقبل. أمّا المعياران الرئيسيان للاختيار فهما:

الملاءمة

  • المكانة أو المكانة المحتملة الذي تشغلها المؤسّسة في قطاع الفنون والثقافة.
  • السّمعة ومدى إشراك المجتمع.
  • كيفيّة إرتباط التّفكير الداخلي للمؤسّسة فيما يتعلّق بالتحديات والأولويات ببرنامج "الرّيادة في الفنون والثّقافة" من حيث الوحدات والروحيّة العامّة.
  • مدى استفادة المؤسّسة من البرنامج.
  • التّجربة ومرحلة التّطوير.

الجهوزيّة

  • مقدرة ومستوى فريق الإدارة.
  • الإستعداد والرَّغبة في التفكير خارج الصندوق.
  • مدى الإندفاع والقدرة على تجربة أدوات ونهج رياديّة جديدة.



ورشة العمل الافتراضية الأولى في الدورة الثالثة لبرنامج آفاق للريادة في الفنون والثقافة | 8 شباط/فبراير – 1 آذار/مارس 2021

عُقدت ورشة العمل الأولى من الدورة الثالثة لبرنامج آفاق للريادة في الفنون والثقافة افتراضياً بين 8 شباط/فبراير و1 آذار/مارس 2021. قدم المشاركون/ـات في هذه السلسلة التمهيدية مؤسساتهم/ـن ومجالات عملهم/ـن واستعرضوا/ـن السياقات والسرديات والنجاحات والتحديات. بصبحة خبراء مشهورين من خلفيات وخبرات متنوعة، من كلّ من مصر وكينيا والهند والولايات المتحدة الأميركية ولبنان، تطرّق/ـت المشاركون/ـات إلى مجموعةٍ كبيرةٍ من الأفكار حول ممارسات التفكير التصميمي، وفنّيات السرد القصصي، واستراتيجيات التواصل الفعّالة، وأساسيات المرونة التمويلية. كما تناول/ـن المشاركون/ات أيضاً أسئلة مهمّة حول موضعة عملهم/ـن وقيمته واطّلعوا/ـن على مقاربات مؤسسية وحكومية عامة لاستدامة القطاع الثقافي واستقلاليته.

للمزيد من التفاصيل حول ورشة العمل الأولى، يمكنكم تنزيل برنامج الورشة كاملاً

ورشة العمل الأولى من برنامج آفاق للريادة في الفنون والثقافة - العروض التقديمية والمراجع

الخلفيّة والسياق – أسامة الرفاعي
العالم يراوح مكانه تحت وطأة جائحة كوفيد-19. والخطر لا يقتصر على الصحة العامة وحياة السكان فحسب بل ويتهدّد موارد العيش ويفاقم من حدّة اللامساواة بين البلدان والطبقات الاجتماعية في ظل التراجع الشديد للأنشطة الاقتصادية. لكن في الوقت الذي تطالعنا فيه عناوين الأخبار بالمصيبة تلو الأخرى على الصعيدين الإقليمي والعالمي، ثمّة قصص رائعة تخترق هذا الوضع الكارثي لتحكي عن التكافل والوعد بمجتمعات أكثر وعياً وعن ولادة جديدة لقادة فكر مستنيرين/ات. ما هي أبرز القوى التي تشكّل عالمنا اليوم؟ هل تصمد مبادئنا وقيمنا التي نؤمن بها والتي تشكّل نواة عملنا المؤسسي؟ هل لا يزال دورنا كفاعلين/ات ثقافيين/ات فاعلاً داخل مجتمعاتنا وتجاه جمهورنا في حين تنحصر مساحة التواصل مع العالم الخارجي بالوسائط الرقمية؟ كيف نعيد توزيع الموارد المتضائلة لدعم رسالة مؤسساتنا؟ ما هي المهارات والأطر الفكريّة التي يجب أن تضطلع بها القيادات الثقافية للمستقبل؟

التفكير التصميمي – ناديا روماني
ترشدكم/ن هذه الجلسة الأولى في سلسلة من ثلاث جلسات تُعقد على مدار فترة البرنامج، إلى كيفيّة تطوير مناهج وعقليات وسلوكيات تصميمية تتمحور حول الإنسان، بحيث يمكنكم/ـن تطبيقها على أي برنامج تريدون/ن إطلاقه أو تطويره خلال العام المقبل. نستعرض خلال الجلسة عدداً من الحالات الدراسية ونخوض معاً تدريبات عملية عدّة للإجابة على الأسئلة التالية: لمن نصمّم تحديداً؟ وما هي الحاجة التي نحاول إشباعها أو العاطفة التي نحاول حثّها؟ وكيف نحقق ذلك بطرق مثيرة ومتنوعة؟

عرض تقديمي لناديا روماني

القيم والتموضع – مختار كوكش
كيف يمكن للمؤسسات الفنية والثقافية تحسين تموضعها ووصف رسالتها وسط مشهد ثقافي ومجتمع-مدني يتزايد فيه التضارب والتنافس؟ وكيف يمكن لتلك العملية المساهمة في تعزيز الخيارات الاستراتيجية المتعلقة بتوزيع الجهود وضمان المزيد من الاستقرار الاجتماعي والمالي؟ يفشل القطاع الثقافي والفني لأسباب عدّة ذاتية وخارجية في إظهار قيمته في صيغة واضحة لكل من الجهات التمويلية والمستفيدين/ات والجمهور العريض. ما هي بعض الفئات والاستراتيجيات والمنهجيات التي من شأنها مساعدة الفنانين/ات والقادة الثقافيين/ات على إيجاز مساهماتهم/ـن وإبراز قيمتها بشكل أفضل ووضعها في إطار "الصالح العام"؟ وما المفاهيم الخاطئة والفرص والعثرات المرتبطة بتزايد التحديد والقياس والتقييم والتصنيف في قطاع الفن والثقافة؟

عرض تقديمي لمختار كوكش

السرد القصصي – روب بارنت
عالمنا الذي نحياه هو عالمٌ من القصص. فالقصص هي ما يشكّل تاريخنا ويساعدنا على فهم حاضرنا ورسم ملامح مستقبلنا. السرد القصصي هو أقدم فن في الوجود، وإذا ما وُظّف جيداً، قد يغيّر الوجود. خلال هذه الجلسة سنكتشف القصص الست الأساسية التي قد تساعدنا على تغيير وجه العالم، وسنتعرّف على النظريات العلمية التي تقف وراءها. تشكّل هذه القصص ضرورةً لا غنى عنها لنجاح الأفراد والمؤسسات التي يدفعها الشغف برسالتها. إذ تساعدها على تنظيم أفكارها بشكلٍ واضح، وتمكنها من عرض وتقديم فحوى رسالة عملها بشكل دقيقٍ ومباشر. سيـ/تقوم المشاركون/ـات بتحديد قصصهم/ـن الخاصة وتنقيحها واختبارها مع المجموعة. ولتوضيح كيفية عمل هذه القصص الأساسية وفهم تأثيرها، سنتناول قصةً من شرق إفريقيا وصل صداها وطبع أثرها حياة أكثر من 10 ملايين شاب وشابة حول العالم. سنتعرف على كيفية صياغة هذه القصص، وسنفهم كيف يتقاطع العلم والبيانات مع الإبداع والرؤى لإنتاج التغيير الإيجابي على نطاقٍ واسع.

عرض تقديمي لروب بورنت

التواصل 1 | التموضع – حاتم إمام/ستوديو سفر
في الجلسة الأولى من ثلاث جلسات حول موضوع التواصل، نتناول المبادئ والأدوات الأساسية لبناء استراتيجية محكَمة وناجحة للتواصل كما نتعرف على كيفية مساهمة ذلك في تعزيز الأداء والانتشار. تركّز هذه الجلسة على أهمية "التموضع" والأسباب التي تحتّم تحديده في مرحلة مبكرة من مراحل التخطيط الاستراتيجي. وتسعى الجلسة إلى صياغة بيان تموضع للمؤسسات المشاركة، والتفكير في الجمهور والأهداف كجزءٍ متمّمٍ لعملية التموضع.

عرض تقديمي لحاتم إمام

نحو مرونة تمويلية أكبر - أماني الحادقة
في مثل هذه الأوقات، تُعدّ المرونة التمويلية خاصيةً أساسية لاستدامة عمل المؤسسات واستقرارها. فعادةً ما تكون المؤسسات التي تمتلك مرونة تمويلية أكثر قدرةً من غيرها على التحوّل والاستجابة الطارئة للأزمات ما يفتح لها متسعاً للرؤى والتخطيط المستقبلي. كيف يمكننا كمؤسسات أن نمتلك مرونة تمويلية أكبر؟ ما هي اللبنات التأسيسية التي ينبغي البناء عليها لتحقيق ذلك؟ في هذه الجلسة سنتطرّق لعددٍ من المقومات الأساسية للتمويل الاستراتيجي، بما فيها مفهوم الكلفة الفعلية للبرنامج والدعم الأساسي لرسالة المؤسسة. سنتعلّم كيف يمكن للمقاربة الاستراتيجية للتمويل أن تدعم قدرات المؤسسة على الإدارة المالية وتمكّنها من تطوير سيناريوهات مختلفة. سنتعرض أيضاً لمسألة تنويع مصادر الدخل ومتطلباتها والمصادر المختلفة للإيرادات المالية، كما سنتعرّف على بعض أحدث التوجهات لدى المؤسسات المالية. سنستكشف أيضاً كيف يتم ذلك داخل المؤسسات، ومن هو المنوط بذلك ضمن تنظيم وإدارة فريق العمل.

عرض تقديمي لأماني الحادقة

الهند على المحكّ: بناء علاقات التكافل وحشد الموارد - أرونداتي غوش
تستعرض هذه الجلسة كيف يكافح مجتمع الفن والثقافة في الهند للبقاء والنمو والازدهار. شهدت الهند طيلة عقد من الزمن تحولات عدة على الأصعدة الاقتصادية والسياسية والاجتماعية والتقنية. تسعى هذه الجلسة إلى تحليل أثر هذه التحولات على البيئة وعلى كيفيّة بناء علاقات التكافل بين الممارسين الفنيين والثقافيين كأفراد ومجموعات وكيفية تسخيرهم للموارد من أجل الاستمرار. تستند الجلسة إلى أمثلة عدّة ضمن مجموعة واسعة من الممارسات الفنية بغية طرح الأسئلة واستعراض الهموم والتحديات التي تواجه القطاع في ظل الظروف الراهنة ودور الممارسات الثقافية في مجابهة السلطات القمعية؟ كما سنتعرف خلال هذه الجلسة إلى عمل مؤسسة الهند للفنون وإلى آليات استدراج الموارد لدعم القطاع الفني والثقافي في البلاد.
كيف للاستراتيجيات المتنوّعة وروح الزمالة والرفاقيّة ما بين القطاعات المختلفة أن تُمكّن قطاع الفن والثقافة من التغلّب على محدودية الموارد التقليدية ومواجهة التحديات الراهنة؟

عرض تقديمي لأرونداتي غوش

كيف نبني ونعمل في آن واحد - لينا عطالله
سنستمع خلال هذه الجلسة إلى لينا عطالله وهي تروي تجربة "مدى مصر" وسنتعرف إلى جانبي الإدامة اللذين يرتكز إليهما عمل المؤسسة: إدامة المواهب من خلال بعض مقاربات المؤسسة للموارد البشرية (بما فيها بعض الأفكار المستجدة حول العمل في ظل الجائحة) وإدامة الجمهور من خلال آليات بناء الجمهور والمحافظة عليه. ما هو المحتوى – بما في ذلك العمل الثقافي – الذي تقدمه "مدى مصر" وكيف يتم التخطيط الاستراتيجي له كل عام مع أخذ العام الفائت في الاعتبار بوصفه عاماً استثنائياً؟
إلى ذلك سنستعرض كيفية ربط هذين الجانبين من عملية الإدامة وهيكلية الاستدامة التي تستند إليها المؤسسة مع التركيز على الأمور التي لا يجب الأخذ بها كمسلّمات في إطار عملية التمويل التنموي وعلى الوسائل المتاحة لاستدرار موارد الدخل.

عرض تقديمي للينا عطالله


برنامج الريادة في الفنون والثقافة - الدورة الثانية

أنقر/ي هنا للإطّلاع على مجريات دورة العام 2020 من برنامج الريادة في الفنون والثقافة


برنامج الريادة في الفنون والثقافة - الدورة الأولى

أنقر/ي هنا للإطّلاع على مجريات دورة العام 2019 من برنامج الريادة في الفنون والثقافة

المحكّمون السابقون

1

المشاريع السابقة

Arts and Culture Entrepreneurship

ACE is a new AFAC special program in partnership with Drosos Foundation, and supported by the German Federal Foreign Office. It fosters a collective space for reflection on sustainability and is designed to inspire, invigorate and strengthen small and medium cultural institutions, based and working in the Arab region, and whose initiatives engage with communities. Twenty-four arts and culture institutions will benefit from three cycles during the period 2018-2021, i.e. eight per cycle. ACE comprises entrepreneurship training and mentoring components, as well as an incentive grant for the participating institutions to implement an innovation activity aimed at improving their institutional resilience. The novelty of ACE is that it is experimental, far-reaching and encourages learning from other sectors. It focuses on inspirational case studies, and intends to share best practices and experiences mainly South-South, and to share findings using an on-line interactive platform that benefits many other institutions not directly participating in the program. The program provides an opportunity for these institutions to re-examine their mission in light of a rapidly-changing globalized world; re-assess their relevance to their audiences and stakeholders; get inspired by peer institutions in other sectors and geographies facing the same challenges and opportunities; and finally to acquire new skills and capacities to improve their long-term sustainability.

The program is conceived as an experiment in “learning and doing” crafted and delivered by a group of specialists from the culture sector and beyond, that will continue to evolve in content throughout its planned three-year duration. ACE workshops’ modules include strategy, communications and fundraising; learning from leaders in microfinance, social media and entrepreneurship; case studies from peer institutions in Africa, the Indian sub-continent and South America; as well as reflections on global themes of inequality, technology and ethics. Each cycle spans one year and benefits eight arts and culture institutions. The director and deputy director of the respective institutions participate in the 12-month program that includes three workshops as well as mentorship and follow-up in-between. Participants will additionally be supported with a grant of $25,000 to fund a specific innovation activity, inspired by the program, to strengthen the organization’s sustainability.

Context

Arts and culture institutions in the Arab region operate in an increasingly challenging environment. Dependency on any one type of support be it state, corporation, foundations or individuals, comes with potential pressure and risks. In cases where regulations are strict on institutions, many cannot make ends meet, let alone achieve their full potential. Few have opportunities to take time to reflect on their development and to re-invent themselves, further undermining their sustainability. With funding for arts and culture generally decreasing in this sector, and with the inevitable changes in the funding landscape, arts and culture institutions need to continuously adapt by thinking out of the box and diversifying their sources of funding.

One of the recommendations that came out of the ten years’ study in 2017 on AFAC was to consider supporting institutional resilience of cultural organisations. With its own track record in supporting arts and culture and identifying innovative sustainability approaches, AFAC is committed to take the lead on supporting a community of practitioners in their quest to revisit their raison d'être in order to remain relevant to the communities they address, and to develop more sustained operations that generate artistic and public value, and to be able to effectively communicate the impact of their initiatives.

As arts and culture institutions, we are public benefit entities with much to be proud of and with a profusion of questions that keep us on our toes. What is the value we generate? What is the social impact we create and for whom? How can we remain relevant and connected to our communities? How is what we do locally linked to global efforts for sustainable development? What can we learn from practitioners in different contexts and sectors? What kind of stories do we tell of our work and with what tools? How do we mobilize individuals, corporations and institutions in innovative ways to invest in arts and culture in our region? What are ethical considerations related to sources of funding? How adaptive is our leadership to espouse an entrepreneurial spirit? How do we inspire ourselves to innovate and what are our priorities? How can we work with a public and non-profit sector that aims to be as efficient as the private sector, and a private sector that tries to be socially-minded? What other aspects should we be busy with?

These are some of the queries that the Arts and Culture Entrepreneurship (ACE) program will unravel.

Selection Process and Criteria

ACE is a curated program and the process of application is through nomination. For the first cycle, 29 nominators were involved, both individual and institutions, with wide knowledge of arts and culture institutions in the Arab region. AFAC received 82 nominations, out of which 7 were recommended more than once, so there were in total 73 distinct institutions nominated. Out of those that AFAC contacted to apply to ACE, 48 institutions expressed interest and a total of 39 effectively submitted their applications. The jury selected 8 final candidates.

The three jury members who deliberated on the final selection for this first cycle of ACE were Khadija El Bennaoui (Morocco), Ahmed El Attar (Egypt) and Mokhtar Kokache (Lebanon/Syria). Rich discussions among the jurors reflected their focus on prioritizing those institutions that stood the highest chance to benefit from the opportunity that ACE offered and have existing or the potential for wider social impact. The two key criteria for selection were:

Relevance

  • role or potential role they play within the arts and culture sector;
  • community engagement and reputation;
  • how internal reflections on challenges and priorities are linked to the ACE program in terms of modules and spirit;
  • the extent to which the institution will benefit from the program; and
  • experience and stage of development;

Readiness

  • calibre of the management team;
  • their willingness to think outside the box;
  • how motivated and able they are to experiment with new tools and entrepreneurial approaches.



ACE Cycle 3 First Workshop | Virtual |8 February - 1 March 2021


The first workshop of the third ACE cycle occurred virtually in a relaxed schedule between 8 February and 1 March, 2021. In this introductory series of sessions, participants presented their organizations and their work, exchanged and reflected about their contexts, narratives, successes and challenges. Accompanied by specialists and mentors as well as by experts with diverse backgrounds and experiences from Egypt, Kenya, India, the United States and Lebanon, participants were exposed to a plethora of ideas, such as design thinking practices, techniques of storytelling, the design of effective communications strategies, and the basics of financial resilience. Additionally, they explored important questions related to the positioning and value of their work, and learned about organization-specific and country-wide approaches to cultural sustainability and independence.

For more details on the program of the first workshop, download full program

ACE Workshop 1 – Presentations and Reference Material

The Context – Oussama Rifahi
COVID-19 has brought the world to a standstill. Not only are the health and lives of populations in danger; the sharply reduced economic activity is also threatening livelihoods and exacerbating inequalities between countries and social classes. The news headlines both regionally and internationally unfurl one outrageous story after another, but buried between cataclysmic events are wonderful stories of solidarity, the promise of more conscious communities and a resurgence of visionary thought leaders. What are the major forces shaping our world today and tomorrow? Are the principles and values that we believe in personally and that are at the core of the work of our institutions, unchanged? Are we still relevant to our communities and audiences as cultural actors, in times where our outreach is confined to the digital? Where do we allocate the diminished resources at our disposal to foster the mission of our institutions? What are the skills and attitudes needed for the cultural leaders of the future?

Design Thinking – Nadia Roumani
This session, the first in a series of three to be delivered throughout the program’s duration, aims to guide participants on how to apply human-centered design methods, mindsets and behaviors, to a program they are looking to launch or redesign in the coming year. It also includes a number of case studies to answer the following questions: who are we specifically designing for? What need are we addressing, or emotion are we trying to illicit? How might we generate several exciting ways to achieve that goal?

Presentation by Nadia Roumani

Positioning and Value – Moukhtar Kocache
In an increasingly discordant and competitive cultural and civil society landscape, how can arts and culture organizations better position themselves and describe their missions? How can that process help them be more strategic about their energies, to secure increased social and financial stability? For a variety of reasons, both intrinsic and extrinsic, the arts and cultural sector falls short of proving its value in a way that can be understood by funders, recipients and the public at large. What are some of the categories, strategies and methodologies that can help artists and cultural leaders better outline their contributions and value to the “public good”? What are the misconceptions, opportunities and pitfalls of increased specificity, measurement, evaluation and classifications in the arts and culture sector?

Presentation by Moukhtar Kocache

Storytelling – Rob Burnet
The world we live in is constituted of stories. The stories we tell define our history. They illustrate how we make sense of the present, and they have the power to determine our future. Storytelling is the oldest art-form, and when used carefully, it can change the world. We will discover the 6 Essential Stories that will help us change the world, and find out what is the science behind them. We will create the 6 essential stories that every mission-driven individual and organization need for success – to organize clearly their thinking and their mission, so they can readily and concisely present the key essence of their work. Participants will each define their own stories, refining and testing them with the group. Moreover, to illustrate the process, and unpack the power of their essential stories, we will learn about a story from East Africa that is reaching and transforming the lives of 10 million young people; how it is created and how science and data have merged with creativity and insight to generate positive change at a huge scale.

Presentation by Rob Burnet

Communications 1 | Positioning – Hatem Imam / Studio Safar
The first in a series of three sessions focusing on communications, this session explores the main principles and tools that are at the heart of a solid and successful communications strategy, and how this helps improve performance and outreach. It also focuses on the importance of “positioning” and why it is crucial to define it at the early stages of a strategy. The session aims to formulate a positioning statement for organizations and reflect on audiences and goals as an integral part of the positioning process.

Presentation by Hatem Imam

Gearing Towards Financial Resilience – Amany Alhadka
In times like these, financial resilience is critical to organizations’ sustainability and stability. Organizations with greater financial resilience are able to pivot and respond to the crises while creating a space for future looking and conducting scenario planning. How can we become more financially resilient as an organization? What are the building blocks and elements that need to be in place in order to achieve this? In this session, we will cover some of the core elements of strategic finance, including the concept of true program cost and core mission support; we will learn how a strategic budgeting approach can strengthen the organization’s financial management capacities and enable it to develop different scenarios. We will also cover income diversification and learn more about its pre-requisites, different sources of financial inflows and some of the new trends in financing organizations. We will also explore how and by whom this is conducted within organizations’ teams and governance.

Presentation by Amany Alhadka

India at the Edge: Building Solidarities and Mobilizing Resources – Arundhati Ghosh
This session will take you through the context within which the arts and culture community in India survives and thrives. Over the past decade, there have been many shifts in the country – economic, political, social and technological. The session will attempt to analyze the impact of these changes on the environment, and the ways in which arts and culture practitioners, as individuals and collectives, are building solidarities and sustainability. Through examples from a diverse range of artistic practices, it will also raise the questions, concerns and challenges that the sector is encountering in the current milieu, and how cultural practices are disrupting oppressive powers. We will also learn about the work of the India Foundation for the Arts, and the dynamics of resourcing the arts and culture sector in the country.

Presentation by Arundhati Ghosh

How to Build, While We Work – Lina Attalah
In this workshop, we will listen to the story of Mada Masr, and learn about the two aspects of retention they are focusing on: talent retention through some of their Human Resources approaches (including some newly crafted thoughts on work in light of the pandemic) and audience retention through audience building mechanisms. What type of content - including cultural work - do they offer, and how do they strategize for it every year - with the past exceptional year as particular backdrop?
We will also discover how they connect these two aspects of retention to their sustainability model, engaging on what they should not take for granted in the developmental funding arena, and on possible ways to generate income.

Presentation by Lina Attalah


Arts and Culture Entrepreneurship Second Cycle

Click here to explore the 2020 cycle of the Arts and Culture Entrepreneurship program


Arts and Culture Entrepreneurship First Cycle

Click here to explore the 2019 cycle of the Arts and Culture Entrepreneurship program

previous jurors

1

related projects